Handle changeset conflicts

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

dpPower > Workflows in dpPower > Common tasks >

Handle changeset conflicts

Causes of conflicts

When you post a changeset, a conflict may arise for one of the following reasons:

Different changes to the same component attribute have been made in parallel in two or more changesets.

Example: Bosse and Karin both edit the ID number of the same line in the network in their respective optimistic changesets. Karin commits her change. When Bosse later commits his change, he receives a notification that the line has recently been committed and that there are now three versions of the ID number for the line: the original, Karin’s, and Bosse’s own version. Bosse chooses which version to use by synchronizing the versions and finally committing his changeset.

Objects in the changeset to be committed are locked in another changeset.

Example: Karin edits various objects in her optimistic changeset. When she tries to commit, she receives a notification that an object is locked. By viewing the lock information for the object, she sees that it is Bosse who has locked the object in a pessimistic changeset. Karin asks Bosse (or an administrator) to unlock the object, and then commits the changeset again.

The conflict handling window

When a conflict arises during posting or when converting changesets, the Conflict Management window opens.

The window displays the different versions of component attributes that are causing the conflict and/or locked objects. Conflicts are presented in a tree view where objects are at the top level and components of the object are at the underlying level. Left-click the Open Tree/Close Tree buttons to show or hide objects and components.

You specify which version of the attribute should apply in the database and then synchronize the selection—that is, apply the version choice. You can synchronize entire columns at a time, entire objects, or individual components.

 

Resolve a Conflict

1.Select one of the options

oNow posted —If you select one of the attribute versions, that field is highlighted in green.

oIn this changeset

oDo not synchronize - Means that you choose not to resolve the conflict at this time. Unsynchronized attributes are highlighted in red.

2.Click Synchronize. Synchronized attributes are removed from the table.

3.Post the changeset; click Post.... The resolved conflict is saved to the database.

 

Resolve locked objects upon posting

1.Select the Locked tab.

2.Left-click on a row in the table listing the objects that are locked by other changesets. Information about the User and the name of the changeset is now displayed in the lower table.

3.Contact the user and ask them to unlock the object by Undoing, Posting, or Converting the changeset, depending on which is most appropriate.

4.Then resubmit your changeset.

 

Settings

 

 

Object Type

Tree view of objects and their constituent components.

Field  

Attribute field containing the conflict.

Before Your Change

The original attribute, as it was saved in the database before the conflict occurred. You cannot select this option.

Now posted

The attribute as it appears after the most recently posted change. Choose to synchronize the entire column, object, or individual components by left-clicking in the corresponding column field, which is highlighted in green.

You can also right-click on the [geometry] row to display a temporary graphic showing the modified component on the map and how it appears in the posted data, allowing you to compare it with the new state in your changeset.

 

In this changeset

The attribute as it appears in the user’s current, unsaved changeset. Choose to synchronize the entire column, objects, or individual components by left-clicking in the corresponding column field, which is highlighted in green.

Do not synchronize

The conflict is not resolved but remains in the changeset. The next time you post, the conflict will reappear in the Conflict Management window. Choose to synchronize the entire column, an object, or individual components by left-clicking in the corresponding column field, which is highlighted in red.

Synchronize

Applies the selected attribute version. Synchronized conflicts are cleared from the table.

Post...

 

Synchronized conflicts are not automatically saved to the database. Therefore, be sure to commit the changeset again after you have completed the synchronization.

Close

Closes the window.