|
<< Click to Display Table of Contents >> dpPower > Workflows in dpPower > Basic tasks > Delete object |
When an object is deleted, both the object and its associated graphical and data components are deleted.
Since deletion can affect relationships with other objects, the system may in some cases require that connections be removed or that the object’s status be changed before the deletion can be completed.
1. Launch the function to delete objects via Edit > Object > Delete Object or click “ ” in the toolbar.
2. Select the object to be deleted in the graphical view.
3. Confirm the deletion in the dialog box that appears.
The object will then be deleted along with its associated components.
If the object is linked to one or more other objects, a warning will appear before the deletion is carried out.
You can then choose to:
Option |
Description |
Disconnect and Delete |
Removes the object’s connections and then deletes the object. |
Show connections |
Shows which objects are linked before deletion is carried out. |
Cancel |
Cancels the deletion. |
It may be advisable to review the links before deleting the object, especially if the object is part of a larger network or workflow.
In some products, the object’s state may affect whether it can be deleted.
Due to predefined rules, special rules apply to electrical objects.
Objects that have ever been posted in the In use state cannot normally be deleted. Instead, their stage must be changed to Demolished. Users with administrator privileges can use special administrative functions to delete objects regardless of their stage.